Not many bands can be silent for over a decade and be welcomed back with the overwhelmingly enthusiastic reception of ACCEPTANCE. The Seattle rockers may have called it quits after the release of their record Phantoms in 2006, but the bands cult fan base never swayed and over the years their demands for a reunion only grew louder. It was an invite to play the 2015 Skate and Surf Festival in New Jersey that finally brought Acceptance back together, and after that there was no turning back. They hit the studio with longtime producer friend, Aaron Sprinkle, to once again capture that undeniable signature sound they’d become celebrated for.

During the process Acceptance launched a Pledge Music Campaign that ignited fan frenzy and caught the attention of RISE Records, who signed the band for the release their new album, Colliding By Design. Soon after they began unveiling songs to satiate fans unquenchable thirst for the first music from the band in twelve years. Their singlesDiagram of a Simple Man and Haunted showed that “the group hasn’t lost a bit of the magic that originally brought them together” (Consequence of Sound), and also caught the attention of celebrity super fans Joe Jonas and WWE’s Seth Rollins. Today, just twenty-four hours ahead of the records release, Acceptance are giving fans the official first listen of the project with the help of Billboard. When asked about what making this record has meant to them, vocalist Jason Vena shared, “There was something remarkable that happened when making Colliding by Design. After 10 years of barely speaking with one another, 10 years of not playing a single Acceptance song. Musically, lyrically, this record became a re-imagination of Acceptance. Far more for us than just a collection of songs that felt as if they needed to be written when we restarted 2 years ago. This record became the designed expression of who we are, where we’ve been, and where we want to go.”

“Colliding By Design evolves the band’s sound significantly, upgrading with radio-ready production while honoring what made the band so special previously.” – Alternative Press“Skillfully sketched melodies are their calling card and, while it has virtually no bite or cutting edge to speak of, there is enough craft and subtle depth here to warrant repeat listens.” – RockSound“What could have been a nostalgia grab is instead the triumph of a band that chose to deliver on the initial promise of their seminal debut, not only to their faithful fans, but, more importantly, to themselves.” – AllMusic“Colliding By Design is entrancing from start to finish, and it’s the perfect way for the next generation of music fans to find Acceptance.” – Substream Magazine“Acceptance does more than just pick up from where they left off with Colliding by Design, they’ve embraced the way of the phoenix: rising from the ashes to create something magnificent and new.” – Slope Media
Colliding By Design track list:
01. Diagram of a Simple Man
02. Colliding by Design
03. We Can Escape
04. Come Closer
05. Goodbye
06. 73
07. Fire and Rain
08. Sunset
09. Haunted
10. When I Was Cursed
11. Golden
02/24 – El Rey – Los Angles, CA
02/25 – Social Hall – San Francisco, CA
02/26 – Chop Suey – Seattle, WAAUSTRAILIAN TOUR W/Taking Back Sunday:
03/17 – Enmore Theatre – Newtown, Australia
03/18 – The Triffid – Brisbane, Australia
03/19 – 170 Russell – Melbourne, Australia
03/21 – 170 Russell – Melbourne, Australia
03/22 – The Gov – Adelaide, Australia
03/23 – Metro City – Northbridge, Australia

2 thoughts on “Acceptance; FIRST LISTEN OF ‘COLLIDING BY DESIGN’”

Leave a Reply