DEAF POETS Drop Aggressive Garage Rock Banger, “R U DP”, NEW ALBUM OUT MAY 5TH, In Denver May 27

Proving that Rock & Roll is alive and reverberating out of places you’d least come to expect it, Miami rock duo Deaf Poets are solidifying themselves as a front runner in the genre’s resurgence.

The pair are currently preparing to self-release their anticipated full-length album, Lost In Magic City, on May 5, 2017. The album recording process was a tour in itself with tracking done at Atlanta’s Living Room Recording, Bull Productions Recording Studio in North Miami and Cutting Cane studios in Davie. The band put finishing touches on the album themselves with a DIY approach to the remaining recordings. Their music has been described as “sexy, psychedelic garage rock combining the epic howl of Led Zep with the fierce anxiety of Smashing Pumpkins” [Black Book].

Today, Deaf Poets have teamed up with Substream Magazine to premiere their feverish new single, “R U DP”. When asked about how the song came to be, Nico shared, “This song is one of our favorites to perform live. The fast tempo and steady pace makes it a fun opener, both live and for the record. The song is about false promises and passing the blame to others when we are responsible for our problems/shortcomings. We’ve incorporated our initials in the track title since the theme was borrowed from our personal experiences.”

Listen to “R U DP,” here:

Watch Deaf Poets “Celestine” video here.

Fans can catch these songs live as Deaf Poets will hit the road to tour in support of the project (dates below). Their captivating set is something of legend, leading to the duo becoming regulars at iiiPoints music festival, and opening for the likes of Matt and Kim, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Naked And Famous, Theivery Corporation, and more. Miami New Times cannot believe how great their live show is, raving, “Catching Deaf Poets live, you might find it hard to believe that only two people are onstage making that much noise. You might find yourself searching for a third band member, a rock ‘n’ roll Wizard of Oz whose trickery conjures up all that ruckus.” 

Lost In Magic City track listing:
  1. Are You DP
  2. Riches
  3. Celestine(video)
  4. Eighty Eight
  5. Meet Me
  6. What Am I To Do
  7. Indigo
  8. King (Don’t Matter)
  9. Hid
  10. I See Light
  11. Worth

Read more about the Deaf Poets here. 

One thought on “DEAF POETS Drop Aggressive Garage Rock Banger, “R U DP”, NEW ALBUM OUT MAY 5TH, In Denver May 27”

Leave a Reply