(Photo Credit: Crackerfarm)

“…J. Marco is a triple threat. As the sole songwriter, singer and lead guitarist on the recording, the Nashville-based artist shows his raw talent with ease. Mixing influences of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers and The Strokes, J. Marco makes music that sounds like a modern day Third Eye Blind. It’s soft but still packs a punch with guitar riffs that cut through the noise and demand to be given center stage.” – Substream Magazine

Nashville’s Alt-rock musician, J. Marco announces his new studio albumDays of Surrenderto be released on September 29th. Today, J. Marco has unveiled his brand new single, “Say Goodbye.” CLICK HERE to listen exclusively on Substream Magazine. 

J. Marco says“’Say Goodbye’ was one of the first songs that I wrote for Days Of Surrender.  It was one of those songs that just assembled itself as soon as I had the hook.  Lyrically, it comes from the same semi-dark place that most of my songs do.  If you take it literally, Say Goodbye could be about two people holding onto a spark that once was there, oblivious to what they really need, and continuing their path to destruction.”

He continues about the album saying, “Days Of Surrender was a record with a mission statement.  I wanted to make an album that captured the bands live energy, let me experiment with new sounds, and continue to grow as a songwriter.  I wrote it in pieces over the span of about a year, following the completion of my previous album, Myth.    Days Of Surrender, is an honest attempt at processing my own worries, and the common worries that we all share, through songs.  I think that everyone has days of surrender, but we just don’t talk about them.  They’re the days when you’d rather just give up, close the blinds, and lock yourself in your bedroom.  Those days are where this album came from.”

Long before moving to Nashville and kicking off his songwriting career, J. Marco listened to records in his Massachusetts bedroom, moving between the fast-moving fuzz of punk-rock and the hard-hitting hooks of pop music. Years later, he combines both of those genres and more on Days Of Surrender, his second album as a solo artist. Days Of Surrender finds J. Marco pulling triple-duty as singer, songwriter, and lead guitarist. Gluing the entire album together is an emphasis on guitar riffs and undeniable melodies, the same two ingredients that connected most of Marco’s childhood influences.

In support of the new album, J. Marco will be hitting the road and doing some US tour dates that will be announced soon. For now, you can catch him in his hometown, Nashville for his Album Release show at The High Watt. See tour date below.

J Marco’s Tour Dates 
October 7 – Nashville, TN – The High Watt (Album Release Show)

Days of Surrender Tracklisting
1. Bad News
2. Say Goodbye
3. Love Don’t Matter
4. Give It Up
5. Now That It’s Over
6. Get Gone
7. Black Smoke
8. See Her Tonight
9. The Way
10. Jackie Says
11. We’re All Alright
12. Days of Surrender


Leave a Reply